top of page
Featured Posts

The First Fifty Years


We had a surprise birthday party for my son, Jeff this past Sunday. His wife, Colleen, planned it with their 3 children. She then delegated the picking up and setting up to his sister, mom, dad, and mother-in-law. It was held in a shelter house in Pilot Knob State Park just outside of Forest City where they live. She and her brother and his wife went with Jeff hiking on the trails in the park which is something they do often. We all set up everything and prepared to yell "surprise" when he appeared.

He was totally surprised as he never expected the whole community to be there. Can't believe those kids didn't let the cat out of the bag! I had to keep catching myself to keep from saying something about it. A fun time and even had nice weather for a change with no bugs.

Now, about the fact that he is 50 now. I suppose I could get all down in the mouth about the fact that my oldest child is now 50. I could look at the fact that it means I'm a bit older since I have a child who is 50. But I prefer to just be very proud of my son, wish him many more birthdays, and keep on keeping on myself!


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
RSS Feed
bottom of page