top of page
Featured Posts

Summer Winding Down

I'm wearing long pants today for the first time in a long time. I don't like this cooler weather already in August. The fore-telling of the coming cold weather is not a topic that appeals to me at all. I really dislike colder weather - a lot!!

Maybe looking back at the summer events I was involved in will help warm me up a bit. Some of the things I did outside was during some really hot weather. Outdoor craft shows have been some really warm ones. Such as one of the Friday Night Live shows in Mason Citywhich was a 92-degree day. Don't know how I lived through that one. The shade and breeze helped.

The lastest craft show was two days at Britt Hobo Days. The breeze was hard to come by that day, but we were under a canopy thanks to the kindness of a neighboring craft vender. I was the winner of the drawing for a free vender site for 2016, so we will be there Lord willing.

I have one more Friday Night Live this Friday. High will be 83 degrees. I think that will be a good night.

The summer began with my youngest granddaughter turning six years old and will end with my oldest granddaughter turning fifteen years old. My, how time does flee by when you are not looking. The oldest, Sarah was the one who gave me the idea for my first children's picture book, The Many Hats of Jeremiah Porter. She was about five years old at the time.

As August winds down, I am looking forward to many exciting things in September. Every weekend in September will be taken up by mostly book-related events.

September starts with the annual Labor Day family reunion. Family, food and fun!

September 12 (Saturday) I have been invited to participate in a book signing at Book World at Southbridge Mall, Mason City.

September 13 (Sunday) is Great Adventure Race at Ames. My son and two grandsons are on one team. My daughter, daughter-in-law, and granddaughter are on another team. I will be part of the cheering squad.

September 19 is the all-day Writer's Conference at Montazuma, which I go to every year.

September 26 is the Iowa Author Fest at Brention Skate Park in downtown Des Moines.

See what I mean? So busy. I am so glad I am retired. It is a joy to do all the things I manage to cram into my time of leisure! As busy as I am with shows, the most joy I experience is from the many hours spent with my four super grandchildren! Love them so much.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
RSS Feed
bottom of page