top of page
Featured Posts

Interview of An Extra Ordinary Life


I recently read An Extra Ordinary Life by a North Iowa author. In this fictionalized novel, Rhoda G. Perry paints a picture of the lives a rural family whose youngest child was born with Down syndrome. Throughout the story, Rhoda describes the love and support offered to his family by the community and the process involved in his education. Despite a few bumps in the road along the way, from a couple of area educators and a couple of prejudiced area women, he remains with his family and eventually receives his “diploma” with the rest of his class.

Rhoda has drawn on her own personal experience as she has a brother with Down syndrome. This was not meant to be an account of her brother’s life. Instead it is a work of fiction based on true facts. In this author’s opinion, Rhoda has aptly shown that Down syndrome children thrive on love and support.

I have interviewed Rhoda for my blog. The following question and answer interview will help you to learn more about her and her book.

Karen: This is a wonderful heart-warming book. What prompted you to write it?

Rhoda: I always loved writing since I was young. I dreamed of being a writer in high school and had a wonderful English teacher who encouraged me. I wanted to share with others the blessings that children with disabilities bring to others and that each one has individual abilities and personality. I wanted to write a story that touched hearts and uplifted others. This story is something I have experience with and is close to my heart.

Karen: How did you choose the title?

Rhoda: .An Extra Ordinary Life has two meanings. First, it means that something seemingly ordinary is much more than that. Secondly, Down syndrome children have an extra chromosome.

Karen: Briefly describe your process in the writing and getting it published? What publisher did you go with?

Rhoda: I began by making a graphic organizer of all the ideas for each age level that I thought about including. I added and deleted ideas as I started writing. I wrote the entire book in pieces and rewrote, edited, and revised at least ten times. I had a friend suggest a publisher called Tate Publishing that helps aspiring writers. After I sent in the manuscript, the founder of the company called me and interviewed me about the book and why I wrote it. He told me about the company, and I was sold.

Karen: Tell us a little about your family.

Rhoda: I am married and a mother of two active teenagers.

Karen: Do you work outside the home? If so, what do you do?

Rhoda: I teach language arts to GED students. This includes teaching the students using correct grammar, reading skills, and writing essays.

Karen: How do you spend your free time? (hobbies etc.)

Rhoda: I mostly spend my free time going to my children's activities, and I also like to read, go to the farm, attend college football games, and go to fairs.

Karen: Do you plan to write another book?

Rhoda: I have some other ideas, but I feel so passionate about this story and want to do public speaking about disabilities.

I would like to thank Rhoda for taking the time to respond to this interview. If you or your organization have an interest in scheduling Rhoda for a speaking engagement, you can contact her by email at:

rhodagpenny@gmail.com

Reviewed by author Karen M Carr http://storylady3.wix.com/karen-m-carr


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
RSS Feed
bottom of page